top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJessica Mick

Bffs & Thx

Updated: Jun 1, 2019

Starting a blog, whew! I haven’t been this excited about something in a while. I get excited pretty often (if you’ve ever seen one of my weekly vlogs I say I’m excited about something probably every other day), but not like this. And my absolutely amazing friends were right there helping me every step of the way. I want to say a special thank you to each of them and share a lesson I learned this year.




For years I have wanted to start a blog (I actually had a WordPress blog back in the day before I even launched my YouTube channel - but that was short lived). When I started it I was just a fourteen year-old girl who enjoyed writing but had no idea how to do this whole blog thing!


Five years later and I still love writing and hope something I say will resonate with someone out there. But this time around I wasn’t stuck figuring things out on my own. I’ve had some really incredible pals helping me through the entire process.


As soon as I was done with finals I started working on this website. Just picture me scrolling through website templates for hours and saying to my friends, “what do you think about this one?” or “oh wait, what about this?”. Instead of getting annoyed, my friends jumped right in to help me out. This site would not be what it is now if it were not for them.


Ashley: Thank you so much for working on this website with me when Wix was not being my friend! And for designing my beautiful logo! Thank you for always being there to answer my million and one questions about how to work this interface and what to do in life in general.


Sarah: Thank you for being a photo queen. Thank you for snapping and editing the beautiful photos for this site when I know you probably had several other things to be working on and studying for. You are so talented. And thank you for you creative mind. Thanks for brainstorming quite a few post ideas!


Adri: Thank you so much for always encouraging me in everything from academics, to creative endeavors, to prioritizing my mental health. Thank you for making your beautiful calligraphy graphics for my page. I appreciate you and all that you do.


To each of you - your talents astound me, and I’m so happy to have such amazing people around me. Thank y’all for laughing with me and having a blog making party in my room and eating popcorn with me.

In this post I wanted to take a chance to recognize all the work my friends contributed to help me get to where I am today. But I also wanted to encourage y’all about the significance of your tribe. Your close circle can and will have a major impact on your day to day life.


When I was preparing for college I spent the most time praying for good friendships. And for a good roommate. But mostly for good friends. And my freshman year of college I have been able to make some of the most special friends.


But then again, what makes these friends so special? All of this seems just so abstract to explain. What’s a good circle of friends? What is a good friend? How is that defined? What does that even mean?


The best answer I have to this is something Kenzie Elizabeth put on her Instagram page earlier this year.


"The people who bring lattes and bring nothing but their presence are the ones who filled my cup. Community is what keeps you here when you don’t know what to say, pray, do or be.”

Find the people who will be this in your life. Pray for these friends. And almost more importantly, work to be this type of friend.


Thank y'all for being my pals. I hope you enjoy this blog.










25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page