top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJessica Mick

My Goals for the Summer

Updated: Jun 1, 2019

Every summer I have always loved making bucket lists. Especially in middle school I would make these super Tumblr sounding lists with literally hundreds of things to do, like build a sandcastle and stargaze (smh). These are both perfectly fine things to do but seem somewhat cliche. If you’re looking for something more listicle like that, you can check out my YouTube channel, All That Jess, where I shared a list of 100 Things To Do in the Summer. It’s a fun video that has some helpful ideas, but that’s all it is - 100 ideas to maybe possibly do. I realized if I want to feel good at the end of the summer I needed to make some real, tangible goals. Here are 10 realistic things I would like to accomplish before I head back to campus in the fall.



1. Marie Kondo my life

I might be crazy, but I actually really enjoy cleaning sometimes. There is something so satisfying about starting with a disaster then creating a clean, open space where you can work without distraction. Going to college this year and living in a dorm room helped me to understand the difference between the things you need, the things you want, and why that matters. Sometimes we hold on to items we don't even truly want. So as soon as I moved back home I went through almost all of my closet to find things to donate. Next spot I clean is my desk because this girl hoards cool pens and pencils like no other!


2. Go on a road trip

Before last summer I had never been on a plane! For most of my life when we would visit family or go on vacations it was in the form of a road trip. This is the perfect time to jam out, have good conversation, take a nap (if you’re not driving, obviously) or eat a crazy snack! I love a good road trip. This year we’re going to visit family in Louisiana and I am so excited. When you road trip and road trip right, you can enjoy it just as much as the vacation itself.


3. Start waking up before 9 am again

Not much to say here. This semester my earliest class would start at 11AM and my roommate and I both appreciated sleeping in. The first week I was home for summer waking up before 10 or 10:30 AM felt awful! Now I’m beginning to get up before 9:15 to 9:30ish and I think that’s progress! I’m still not sure how early I really want to wake up since summer is still for having fun, but we don’t want to sleep away the day!


4. Finish watching The Resident

I used to be SO good about not getting obsessed with shows. Now I’m just letting it slide because it’s summertime, dang it!! AKA I started watching The Resident on Hulu and now I cannot stop! It is such a great show!! I repeat!! So great! The characters are amazing. The drama, so spicy! Every episode leaves you wanting to watch just one more. And a little bonus, any of you who were team Logan back during your Gilmore Girls days are going to love watching Matt Czuchry as the talented Conrad Hawkins, third year resident and total cutie.


5. Learn how to cook more dinners

Although I still won’t have access to a kitchen on campus next year, I need to know how to cook more than just grilled cheese and toast (I’m exaggerating but only by a little bit). This is the perfect time to find some new recipes to try out from Pinterest or Grandma! In the past I learned how to make a delicious French toast from a simple recipe. I think this just comes down to actually choosing to do it. I’m not trying to be a five-star chef. I just want some quick and easy meals to cook during the summertime.


6. Launch my blog and post at least 12 posts

If you’re reading this then the blog is obviously live - yay! However, I don’t just want to launch this and have only 2 posts. I want to aim to publish at least one post per week. Depending on how things go, I could potentially do more, but this whole project is one big learning process for me. I don’t want to bite off more than I can chew! But I also don’t want to aim too low! With that said, I’m excited for the journey in the weeks to come and I can’t wait to share it with you.


7. Spend less time scrolling through social media

Ugh. I know. You’ve heard this one a million times. If we’re being totally honest I’ve written it as a point in need of improvement many a time in my Passion Planner. I struggle to find balance without completely going cold turkey, but when so much of my brand depends on social media I don’t know what I would do without it. Realistically I think I may end up setting time limits for myself. I’m also constantly being reminded that scrolling for hours does nothing to actually make me feel better. Getting up and doing real stuff does. I’m not sure how this one will go, but I’ll keep you posted.


8. Have a spa night occasionally

I can always use an excuse to light some candles and put on a face mask. My skin is actually freaking out right now so this is partially my attempt to correct that. Regardless, there’s nothing more relaxing than coming home and putting your feet up. And I always love buying masks from Lush which leave my skin feeling nice and fresh. If I’m feeling extra ~fancy~ I might even paint my nails!


9. Reorganize and redecorate my space

Decorating a dorm room helped me realize that I enjoy decorating! I have been doing a little work in my room and found that you can easily redecorate on a budget. I knew that my all white comforter was affecting a big part of the design in my room. I used to have a cool black and white theme going on, but as I’ve grown that has seemed less chic and more boring. I wanted to find a new bedspread that would have a feminine and mature look to bring the room together. I looked at multiple bedspreads online, only to find the perfect one on clearance at Walmart ($11 baby!). It totally sets the vibe for the room. It is perfect and allowed for me to adjust the colors slightly without changing too much.


10. Have fun

Duh. Of course you wanna have fun. Okay for real. I wanted to write some goals to accomplish this summer because I wanted to be able to look back and see some progress. However, none of that matters if you don’t have fun, too.


Have a Happy Summer!


46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page